Now That’s What I Call Broadway

No friends, I actually Don’t know every song that has ever been heard in a Broadway musical (though that’s not from lack of trying).  The recent announcement that the “Now That’s What I Call Music” series is adding a Broadway album inspired me to come up with a list of my own. A grateful nod to a good friend of mine (who shall remain nameless so he can unpack and stay around 😋) is also in order. The set list (sorry, the Princess and I have been watching Glee on VOD) while excellent, is also strongly geared toward musicals of a certain relatively recent vintage.  All of the shows featured opened subsequent to my high school graduation, with calendar year 1975 being the earliest, and interestingly enough, most represented with three shows. A note on the “age” of the songs. Two of the songs on the CD are from so-called Juke Box musicals; musicals that are created out of existing popular material.  Because of this Sherry from Jersey Boys and Will You Love Me Tomorrow from Beautiful, The Carole King Musical are actually from the 1960’s.

If I had a vote, these songs would be included (in no particular order):

Old Man River from ShowBoat

People Will Say We’re in Love from Oklahoma.

Tonight from West Side Story

Brotherhood of Man from How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying

Carefully Taught from South Pacific

Summertime from Porgy and Bess

Luck Be a Lady from Guys and Dolls

Someone To Watch Over Me from Oh, Kay!

Dulcinea from Man of La Mancha

The Sweetest Sounds from No Strings

Our Time from Merrilly We Roll Along

Fascinating Rhythm from Lady Be Good

Being Alive from Company

Hello Dolly! from Hello Dolly!

If I Were A Rich Man from Fiddler on the Roof

Aquarius from Hair!

I Could Have Danced All Night from My Fair Lady

Till There Was You from The Music Man

My New Philosophy from You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown (1999 revival)

There’s a Sucker Born Every Minute from Barnum

I’m Just Wild About Harry from Shuffle Along

Give My Regards to Broadway from Little Johnny Jones

Once in Love With Amy from Where’s Charlie

Once Upon a Time from All American

Put On a Happy Face from Bye Bye Birdie

Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered from Pal Joey

Love for Sale from The New Yorkers

Good Old Days from Damn Yankees

Meeskite from Cabaret

If Ever I Would Leave You from Camelot

Steal Your Rock ‘n’ Roll from Memphis

There’s No Business Like Show Business from Annie Get Your Gun

That’s a total of thirty-two.  I left out scores of favorites.  I did try to touch on as many decades as I could and included songwriters who have inspired my love of musicals both from the legitimate theater and in motion pictures.

A couple of favorites (one old, one new) that did not make the cut because they are from shows that did not have a Broadway run:Try to Remember from the longest running musical in theater history  The Fantastiks and a recent gem The Next Ten Minutes from The Last Five Years.

I encourage you to check out some of these songs.  Most are available on YouTube or Vimeo.  The songs run the gamut from tender love ballads to uptempo numbers. From cynical to patriotic. From introspective to irreverent.  Trust me, I have only scratched the surface.

One thought on “Now That’s What I Call Broadway

  1. Hope you and princess had a happy Easter. It’s good to see that you’re carrying on with sharing your words and experiences with us. Hope you’re doing well. Now I have a new fracture my right fibula near the ankle hoping I won’t have to have surgery but just be covering from fracture of left foot which I probably told you about and it’s been like 6 months. You still working at night. Loving Thoughts to you and your princess and of course 2 Vera

    Like

Leave a Reply

